Summer Reading List

I’m fortunate that my company does a summer shutdown during the July 4th week. I plan on taking a day or so of that “free” time off to learn a new technology or go deeper in something that I’ve only touched at a cursory level.

I’ve recently read a few books (below) that were quite good and I’m on the lookout for others.

All of those were great. I can’t recommend the CLR book enough. Great resource.

I’d love suggestions on books/topics that I should learn more about. I’ve been meaning to do serious WCF stuff for awhile. Maybe look at different angles on “security” or “collaboration”? Know of any fantastic “development project management” books?



Categories: .NET, General Architecture

3 replies

  1. The first one by Thomas Erl is pretty basic. I doubt you would find any deep stuff there. His followup volume on SOA Analysis and Design is much better. I have both and would definitely recommend the second. Eric Newcomers book “Understanding SOA” is quite good.

    cheers,
    benjy

  2. Have you thought about maybe relaxing while your company is shut down? Just a thought…:)

  3. Thanks Benjy for the note. I’ll check out the follow-up volume of Erl’s, and Newcomers book.

    As for “Me”, my wife is now banned from the site!

Leave a Reply

